Rhome Municipal Court
2024 GREAT TEXAS WARRANT ROUNDUP
BEGINS THIS FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 23, 2024
RHOME MUNICIPAL COURT - NEW BUSINESS HOURS
beginning October 1, 2023, Rhome MC New hours are:
Tuesday thru Friday, 8:00 a.m. thru 4:00 p.m.
(CLOSED ON MONDAYS)
PLEASE FEEL FREE TO EMAIL the court 24/7 at : email@example.com with your questions/concerns.
Court emails are monitored continuously. Please put your first & last name and your date of birth as the subject.
Please include your best mailing address in your email.
If you want to pay your citation, you can pay:
Online: https://www.govrec.com/home/rhomecitx (a 5% service fee will be applied by the card company, not by the court)
In person or by mail with a : Money Order or Cashier's Check (make payable to City of Rhome. Be sure to sign the payment.)
** To mail your payment, mail to Rhome Municipal Court, P. O. Box 228, Rhome, Texas 76078 **
To pay In person with Cash: you MUST have the EXACT AMOUNT and the citation number.
The court cannot accept overpayments, and does not keep change.
Appropriate clothing attire is required at all scheduled court dockets.
|*** IT IS VERY IMPORTANT that you carefully read the entire instruction document (front and back) the officer gave you when he/she handed you your citation.
*** IF you did not receive an instruction document from the officer, you need to email the court immediately at firstname.lastname@example.org and request it.
*** You are required to submit the original signed document WITH YOUR CITATION to the court within 20 calendar days from the date of your citation (the "Appearance Date/Plea Deadline" is printed in the "Court Information" section on your citation.)
*** For each violation you received, you are required to select a plea option, sign and date the document, PRINT your best contact and mailing information, and submit the document with your citation to the court within 20 calendar days from the date of your citation.
*** FOR THE AMOUNT OF YOUR VIOLATION *** please click on the sub-tab "FAQ" . The violations and their assessed amount are shown which includes the fine and required court costs and state fees. If you do not see your violation listed, please feel free to contact the court either by email or by phone.
ATTENTION: If you would like to enter a plea of Guilty or No Contest, accept a conviction of the violation, and waive your right to a trial by judge or by jury, the amount assessed for your violation is due in full within 45 days of your citation.
FORMS OF PAYMENT ACCEPTED: (no personal checks)
You can pay online: https://www.govrec.com/home/rhomecitx
Money Order or Cashier's Check made payable to City of Rhome. Be sure you sign the payment.
Cash-in person only-You must bring the exact amount, court does NOT have change and cannot accept overpayment per State Statute.
*** Upon receipt of full payment, your citation will be closed as a conviction and may appear on your driving and/or criminal record.
** FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE - There is a 24-hour drop-slot in the front door of Rhome City Hall for after-hours payments or document submission.
--- Court is located inside City Hall at 501 North Main St., Rhome, Texas 76078.
*** You must submit a written plea either in person or by mail by submitting the original citation & the Citation Instruction document back to the court not later than the "Appearance Date" printed on your citation which is 20 calendar days from the date of issue of the citation.
*** If you fail to appear either in person or by mail, as provided by law, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and a hold may be placed on your driver license preventing you from renewing your license and/or registration of your vehicle until the citation has been resolved in full.
THERE ARE 3 PLEA TYPES: (you need to choose ONLY one for EACH violation you received).....
You must submit a written plea of Not Guilty and with your request for a trial by jury (Jury Trial) or a trial by judge (Bench Trial).
You have the right to represent yourself (Pro Se) or you do have the right to hire a licensed attorney to appear on your behalf.
2. PLEA OF GUILTY - means that you admit the violation was prohibited by law, that you committed the violation charged against you, and that you have no defense or excuse for your unlawful act.
3. PLEA OF NO CONTEST (nolo contendre) - means that you do not admit you committed the offense but you are NOT going to contest the State's charge against you. A plea of nolo contendere cannot be used against you in a civil law matter.
PLEA OPTIONS FOR TICKET DISMISSAL THAT MAY BE AVAILALBE TO YOU:
1. Deferred Disposition (probation) for dismissal - COMMERCIAL LICENSE HOLDERS (Class A & B) ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THIS OPTION
You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest, pay an assessed fine + required court costs & state fees PLUS (+) $50.00 "Deferral Fee" not later than 30 days from the date of your plea. You cannot receive any new violations in the City of Rhome through the deferral period (typically for 90 days). You may also be required to complete additional conditions of deferral as ordered by the judge, or as required by TX DPS statute.
Your violation may be dismissed upon successful completion of deferral.
2. Driver Safety Course for dismissal - COMMERCIAL LICENSE HOLDERS (Class A & B) ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THIS OPTION
You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest;
You must possess a current and valid Texas Class C or Class M driver license (or a U.S. Military DL, or are the spouse or direct dependant of a military member); and
You cannot have taken a Driver Safety Course for ticket dismissal for any other court within the last 12 months from the date of your citation in the City of Rhome
*** You must submit ALL OF THE FOLLOWING ITEMS with your plea:
a. Money Order, Cashier's Check, or (exact amount of) Cash for the reduced fine of $144.00 ( or $169.00 if the violation was in a School Zone) - call to verify the amount you owe.
b. A printed copy of your current and valid Texas Class C, Texas Class M, or U.S. Military driver license
c. A printed copy of your current and valid auto liability insurance showing you as a covered driver that will remain effective for at least the next 90 days from the date of your plea.
d. A printed copy of your Type 3-A Driving Record from the TX DPS website: https://txapps.texas.gov/tolapp/txldrcdr/TXDPSLicenseeManager
After submitting your plea and the above required items, you will then have 90 days to complete a Texas Driver Safety Course. You must print the certificate of completion and submit the ORIGINAL SIGNED Certificate to the court on or before the deadline date shown on your instruction paperwork you will receive once the court receives and enters your plea.
FIX-IT TICKETS - Class A and B Commercial DL holders are not eligible for most "fix-it" violation dismissals. Please contact the court if questions.
All "Fix-it Tickets" must be resolved within 20 calendar days from the issue date of the citation and the "dismissal fee" must be paid at the same time. (please contact the court for the dismissal fee). If paying in cash, you must pay the exact amount, the court does not have change and cannot accept overpayments.
*** VERY IMPORTANT -- If you received a citation for Expired Registration, you must tell the DMV when you go to renew your registration that you did receive a citation for expired registration. They are required to charge you a "Late Registration Fee". If you do not pay the "late registration fee" to the DMV, the municipal court cannot dismiss your violation as "Compliance Dismissal" per State Statute.
**** COMMERCIAL LICENSE HOLDERS may not be eligible for this option under TX DPS statute. Please contact the court for questions.
ALTERNATIVE OPTIONS TO PAYING YOUR BALANCE:
*** If you have entered a plea of Guilty or No Contest and have been ordered to pay an assessed amount, but you are unable to pay the amount owed in full by deadline, you can submit a written request for a payment plan.
*** If you feel you qualify for "Indigent Status", you can submit a written request for an "Indigency Hearing" (it is your responsibility to research to see if you qualify for "Indigent Status"). You will be required to complete an Indigency Packet provided by the court regarding your financial obligations and ability to pay. You must submit the packet to the court for the Judge to review and discuss with you at a scheduled Administrative Hearing.
*** An Administrative Hearing will be scheduled for the judge to discuss with you alternative payment options.
*** You will be required to appear in person at all hearings (an attorney cannot appear for you at an Administrative Hearing).
IF YOU NEED ALTERNATIVE OPTIONS TO PAY YOUR CITATION, OR IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BE SET UP ON A PAYMENT PLAN - YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR REQUEST IN WRITING -- You will be required to appear in person at an Administrative Hearing with the judge to discuss your financial situation and how best to resolve your balance owed.
JUVENILE OFFENDERS - 16 YRS OF AGE OR YOUNGER AT THE TIME OF THE VIOLATION ----
- ALL JUVENILE OFFENDERS ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO APPEAR IN OPEN COURT WITH THEIR PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN TO ENTER A PLEA ON ALL VIOLATIONS ISSUED
--- Minors who fail to appear or who fail to pay their fine as ordered will be reported to the Department of Public Safety. You then risk a suspension of your driver's license. Minors who do not have a driver's license will not be able to obtain one until their case is resolved in full.
WARNING: A MINOR child and parent or legal guardian required to appear before the court have a legal obligation to provide the court the current residential address and contact information of the minor child and must keep the court notified in writing of any contact or address updates until the violation has been resolved in full.
*** If you need a continuance regarding your Court setting - you must submit the request in writing to the Court no later than 72 business hours prior to your setting date and time. The judge will make a decision whether or not to grant the continuance. You will be notified in writing of the Judge's decision. If the continuance is granted, a new setting date and time will be mailed to you at the mailing address on file with the Court.
SPECIAL EXCEPTIONS AND/OR SPECIAL NEEDS ACCOMMODATIONS -
*** The Court complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. If you require special services (sign interpretative services, alternative audio/visual devices, amanuenses) or if you do not speak or understand English and need an interpreter, please inform the court immediately so to allow the court adequate time to comply. To make arrangements, call 817-636-2333, or TDD 1-800-RELAY, TX (1-800-735-2989).