Election Day - Saturday, May 5, 2018

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot (posted Monday, December 18, 2017)

Notice of Drawing for Place on Ballot (posted Friday, January 19, 2018)

Candidate Packet (posted Friday, January 19, 2018)

Please contact City Secretary Shannon Montgomery to schedule an appointment if you wish to file for a Place on the Ballot.

Election Information

The City Council of the City of Rhome consists of the mayor and five (5) council members who shall be elected for two-year terms.  All Places, including the mayor, are elected at-large.

May 5, 2018 General Election - Deadline to File:  5:00 p.m. Friday, February 16, 2018
Places will be elected for a two-year term, expiring in May 2020:
Mayor, currently held by Michelle Pittman Di Credico
Place 4, currently held by Sam Eason
Place 5, currently held by Leeanne Mackowski

May 5, 2018 Special Election - Deadline to File:  5:00 p.m., March 5, 2018
Due to Council appointments made to fill vacancies during 2017, the following Places will be elected for a one-year term, expiring in May 2019:
Place 2, currently held by Kenny Crenshaw
Place 3, currently vacant

Candidacy for Public Office
Subchapter A, “Eligibility or Public Office,” of Chapter 141, “Candidacy for Public Office Generally,” of Title 9, “Candidates” of the Election Code states the following:


(a)To be eligible to be a candidate for, or elected or appointed to, a public elective office in this state, a person must:
(1) be a United States citizen;
(2) be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable;
(3) have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be:
(A)totally mentally incapacitated; or
(B)partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote;
(4)have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities;
(5) have resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding the following date:
(A)for a candidate whose name is to appear on a general primary election ballot, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot;
(B)for an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot;
(C)for a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate's name is written in;
(D)for a party nominee who is nominated by any method other than by primary election, the date the nomination is made; and
(E)for an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made; and
(6)satisfy any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for the office.
(b) A statute outside this code supersedes Subsection (a) to the extent of any conflict.
(c) Subsection (a) does not apply to an office for which the federal or state constitution or a statute outside this code prescribes exclusive eligibility requirements.

Are You Registered to Vote?
To confirm your voter registration status or to register, click here.  You must be registered to vote thirty (30) days prior to Election Day.

Municipal elections are held annually in May as authorized by State Law:
May 2019 – Place 1, 2, and 3
May 2020 – Mayor, Place 4 and 5

It's your right, please vote!

Please contact Shannon Montgomery, City Secretary, at 817-636-2462 with questions.

Welcome to the City of Rhome
Physical Location: 501 South Main Street | Mailing Address: PO Box 228 | Rhome, TX 76078
Phone: 817-636-2462 | Fax: 817-636-2465 | Metro: 817- 638-2758 | cityofrhome@earthlink.net